diver.net

Vets Park trash from last fall - follow-up with Army Corps of Engineers

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Ken Kurtis on October 09, 2013 at 17:13:10:

Dan & all,

First of all, my apologies for not getting this done sooner. And perhaps I'd better remind you of what it is I'm apologizing for being tardy with.

For those who may not have been directly involved in the initial discussions, I'm a scuba instructor and part of a small group that raised a stink about unintended consequences of the Redondo Beach sand replenishment project that took place last fall near the Topaz Jetty and Veterans Park. Vets Park is a major diving area for both training and pleasure dives where literally hundreds of dives are made weekly. What we noticed from the time the project started until it finished was a black particulate/silt in the water column that destroyed visibility and left sediment on the bottom, and lots of trash littered over the bottom. Our opinion is that this was all coming from the barge offshore, either though carelessness, leaking pipes, or other factors that were not being addressed.

We had some conversations and meetings with ACE folks and feel that, while it certainly couldn't remove the damage, there was now a new awareness of the issues we raised, a new-found concern about monitoring trash in any sand being used, and an awareness that some of the procedures considered "clean" were having negative environmental impacts that hadn't been anticipated.