diver.net

CALIFORNIA MARINE PROTECTED AREAS - DECADAL REVIEW PROCESS

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Ken Kurtis on September 26, 2021 at 16:20:38:

This is going out to - as best as I could assemble - scuba diving-related entities (shops, clubs, boats, etc.) in California. The purpose is to keep you informed of the upcoming review process for all of the Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) up and down the California coast and off-shore state-controlled waters. If there's someone you think should be on this list and isn't, please feel free to send me their e-mail address.

If you don't already know me, my name is Ken Kurtis. I'm a NAUI scuba instructor (teaching diving at various levels since 1980), owner of Reef Seekers Dive Co. in Beverly Hills, chair of Chamber Day (annual fund-raiser for the Catalina Hyperbaric Chamber) for many years, volunteer dive team leader at the Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific, forensic consultant to the L.A. County Coroner for scuba fatalities, and I write occasionally for a couple of scuba publications as well as speak at various dive clubs.

During the initial process of creating MPAs (roughly 2004-2021), I was the diving interests member of the various iterations of what was called the Statewide Interests Group. We basically helped make sure all voices were heard and everyone had access to the process, as well as advised the Blue Ribbon Panel that made final recommendations.

I am now a member of the 17-person Steering Committee for the MPA Decadal Management Review (more on that in a moment) and essentially serve the same function: making sure people like you know what;s going on and making sure you know how to have input should you so desire.